Fair Credit Reporting Act in Oregon

The Fair Credit Reporting Act in Oregon

The Fair Credit Reporting Act or (FCRA) is a federal law and requires creditors, also known as furnishers, and the crediting reporting agencies to do several things regarding the accuracy of the credit reports. 

Although you know of Equifax, Experian, and Trans Union, there are actually many different types of credit reporting agencies.

Common FCRA Errors to Correct in Oregon

  • Information that is too old to be on your report (generally 7 years)
  • Information that is just wrong and inaccurate
  • Information that is not yours such as identity fraud
  • Information that is mixed or merged with another person's credit files.

Damages under the Oregon Fair Credit Reporting Act

The Oregon law does not add any additional penalties for violating this law unlike other states.

But, under the federal law, you are entitled to emotional distress damages, economic damages, costs, and attorney fees.

Do You Have a Claim under the Federal & Oregon Fair Credit Reporting Act?

Contact the law office of Joseph P. McClelland to see if we can help you right now.

Oregon Specific Fair Credit Reporting Act Law:

ORS 746.600, et seq. has some protection against how the insurance companies gather information, but nothing for you as a consumer to use. In fact, if they violate your rights to gathering this info, you don't get to do anything with it. So, this law is useless to you because it requires your state government to take action.


ORS 659A.320, on the other hand is a great consumer law. Unless you are applying to work at a  bank or financial institution or law enforcement, then an employer can't look at your credit report to make a hiring decision.


Schedule a Free Consultation

See our information of the Fair Credit Reporting Act in these states: (We are still building out each state's page)
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Schedule a Free Consultation